Daily Archives: September 24, 2012

My little sponges

My little sponges Jacqueline and Theodore while playing in the family room this morning, were carrying on as if completely alone. First, Jacqueline, while carrying a stuffed animal dog, was babbling lyrics. In this order, speaking, not singing, while holding the dog, and working around the play kitchen. Followed by some random interactions this morning.

Little town
Quiet village
Everyday
The B-I-B-L-E
That’s the book for me
I stand alone on the word of God
The B-I-B-L-E
Little town
Quiet village
Everyday
Was blind
But now I see
Yellow, black and white
Little town
Quiet village
Everyday
Rock a baby
Tree top
Wind breaks
The cradle will fall
Down come baby
Cradle and all
Hey, brother!
Dinner time!
It’s eat time!

Theodore: Sister! Feed the dog!
Jacqueline: feed the dog?
T: yes, sister.
J: okay, here dog. (Forcing a spoonful of imagination into the dog’s mouth)
T: I made a donut. (Holds it up and takes a loud bite, sounding like a dog’s bark)
T: all done, sister.
J: I take a nap. (Climbs onto the couch with dog and a dolls blanket)
T: Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep! (As he touches every single button on the play kitchen)

T: There’s a bug-gie in there! A bug-gie!
J: Where T-Uh-dore?
T: Over there (pointing)
J: Ummm, I don’t see it. All gone.
T: It died
J: Ya, it died.

T: I take a break
J: take a break?
T: ya
J: I take a break too (they both lay down on couch cushions they’ve placed on the floor)

My two little sponges. Jacqueline and Theodore. They don’t miss anything we say or do. They soak it up and let us see what they’ve learned in random bursts like this morning. Priceless. (photo by Erin Beal)