Lost in place

I waded through the layers that separated the you from me
I peered into the depths of darkness in the place of we

I gave benefits despite the doubt, everything was all I tried
It was the answer missing that dropped me to the floor, I cried

Pains ran in every direction from my heart, it hurt in every limb
How was it that the known wasn't a better choice than the him

The surface is calm but I read between the lines on your face
Without leaving, I have somehow still managed to lose my place

But where is it I will go, for this I chose, and it's all I know
Do I let you hide in plain sight, while I weep in the places I go

I fear that which was lost, together, we could never find again
So I steal away to the silence and serene to contemplate our end

Is it possible to reach the point where all is gone but goodbye
Without the answers to the questions that all begin with why
Leave a Reply

