Toy Trains

I just heard this song this morning, and I thought I would revisit this post. Merry Christmas!

1inawesomewonder

This post is for my brother Pete. It’s about a simple, short song and it is one of my Christmas favorites. Old Toy Trains as sung by Roger Miller. When I hear this song it takes me back to my living room as a kid. The record player spins, Roger Miller’s voice calms my Christmas excitement for a moment or two. Visions of what is wrapped underneath our perfectly lit tree fill my head. As I stare toward the tree I stare right through my focus and the lights turn to a Christmas glow. Warmth is all around me, the sounds are perfect, soft and soothing, as the needle jumps to the next song on the old vinyl record. I ask my dad to lift the arm holding the diamond needle so I can hear Old Toy Trains again. Everything is right, everything is just as it should be, in my little…

View original post 77 more words

Leave a Reply

